Building a better tomorrow...Today! Help continue the Tradition! Denton Distinguished Citizen Luncheon

Distinguished Citizen

Dr. Jamie Wilson Ed.D.

Superintendent of Schools

Denton ISD

The Denton ISD Board of School Trustees named Dr. Jamie Wilson superintendent of schools in July 2012. During his 26-year career he has built a reputation through public education advocacy, growth management and instructional innovation. His life-long ties to the Denton community positioned him to become the leader of the school system.


As a collaborator, Dr. Wilson has forged unprecedented partnerships with local businesses, organizations and institutions of higher education. With his leadership and support, the district has secured assistance for its 41 campuses through its Adopt-A-School program. More than 120 local businesses donate time or financial resources to assist students and support teachers, while also joining parents in contributing more than 481,000 volunteer hours.


Dr. Wilson joined Denton ISD in 2005 as assistant superintendent for secondary academic programs, where he immediately focused on improving educational programs for the district's growing student population. He is committed to student engagement with a focus on student achievement, helping the district continue to gain state and national recognition while being one of the fastest-growing school districts in the state. During the five years he served as deputy superintendent, Dr. Wilson played a major role in managing the district finances, especially in 2011 when the state cut public school funding and the local district's revenue by $11 million.


A graduate of the University of North Texas, Dr. Wilson was a member of the Mean Green basketball team while earning his bachelor's degree. He also earned his master's and doctoral degrees from UNT.


He has been married to Melanie Pettit Wilson, an outstanding educator, for 25 years and they are raising two daughters, Makenzie and Macie. Both currently attend Texas Tech University.




About Dr. Wilson:


Troop 65 Diego Hughes

Troop 65 Ethan Cochran

Troop 65 Nicholas  Ruev

Troop 65 Steven Schofield

Troop 65 Walker Sims

Troop 65 Tristan Watson

Troop 65 Reed Wilhoit

Crew 94 Courbin Eldred

Troop 94 Quincey Reay

Troop 140 Michael Brinlee

Troop 140 Seth Polley

Troop 140 Matthew Smith

Troop 140 Taylor Stewart

Troop 164 James Bundy

Troop 192 Maximillian Mirelez

Crew 355 James Norwood

Troop 366 Connor Roche

Troop 366 Ethan Chen

Troop 366 Benjamin Leonard

Troop  372 Ryan Myers

Crew 468 Helaman Anderson



Crew 468 Matthew Hunter

Troop  614 Daniel Martin

Troop  664 Julian Hesse

Troop 664 Samuel Hesse

Troop 664 Ian Kintz

Troop 664 Stetson McGrew

Troop 664 Andrew Stoffels

Troop 668 Haegen Hess

Troop 668 Parker Jones

Troop 755 Jacob Crandall

Troop 771 Evan Eshelman

Troop 771 Cole Collins

Troop 771 Hayden Hazelip

Troop 771 Tanner Hornsby

Troop 771 James Moran

Troop 771 Reid Palmer

Troop 771 Joseph Quick

Troop 1811 Mark Walworth

Troop 3030 Wesley Mack

Troop 3030 Jarrett Rasure

Denton Convention Center

Embasy Suites

3100 Towncenter Trail, Denton TX 76201

Friday, May 4TH

11:45 A.M.: Gathering - Noon: Program Begins







Submitting Form...

The server encountered an error.

Form received.


If you are unable to attend, please consider supporting a local Scout.